Return to Headlines

Five PUSD 'Teachers of Excellence' named by Rotary of Pasadena


Pasadena, CA – The Pasadena Unified School District (PUSD) today announced the five recipients of the 2016 Teachers of Excellence Award, presented annually by the Rotary Club of Pasadena to educators who excel in their profession. The 2016 honorees are Consuelo Galvez of Marshall Fundamental Secondary School; Natalie Palma of Field Elementary School; Laura Palmer of Sierra Madre Elementary; Beth Strehl of McKinley School; and Sarah Thalmann of Marshall Fundamental.  The teachers will be honored at an awards ceremony on May 18, 2016.

 “Congratulations to these five exceptional educators who engage students and families in the learning process, stay focused on student learning, plan purposefully, and work relentlessly so that our students reach their full potential,” said Superintendent Brian McDonald. “I appreciate the Rotary’s support and recognition of our teachers, students, and schools.”

The Teachers of Excellence is a collaborative program of the Rotary Club of Pasadena and PUSD. The Rotary Club invites all schools to nominate teachers for this honor, and a selection committee composed of principals, UTP, parents, previous winners, and Rotarians reviews the entries.  The five teachers are awarded $1,500, and $500 is presented to each recipient’s school. PUSD’s Teacher of the Year is selected from the five Teachers of Excellence.

Now in its 26th year, the Teachers of Excellence awards program fosters excellence in teaching in the Pasadena Unified School District. It demonstrates the Pasadena Rotary’s commitment to public schools and to exceptional teachers who deserve special recognition.

The Rotary Club of Pasadena will honor the 2016 Teachers of Excellence at a luncheon on May 18, 2016, held at The University Club of Pasadena, 175 North Oakland Avenue, Pasadena. 

2016 Teachers of Excellence:

Consuelo Galvez, Marshall Fundamental Secondary School

Natalie Palma, Field Elementary School, 2nd grade

Laura Palmer, Sierra Madre Elementary School

Beth Strehl, McKinley K-8 School

Sarah Thalmann, Marshall Fundamental Secondary School


For Immediate Release:
April 6, 2016

Media Contact:
Hilda Ramirez Horvath