Charles "Troop" Petrone Scholarship

  • In 1967 Troop Petrone joined the Pasadena High School faculty after spending 3 years with the Peace Corps teaching in Mali, Africa.  During the 21 yeas he was at Pasadena High School he was very active in both PEA and later PFT; was involved in Phi Delta Kappa, eventually becoming its president; he chaired many committees at both the school and district level; taught all levels of classes from reading and proficiency English to the Advanced Placement classes; and chaired the English department for many years.

    During his last 5 – 7 years at Pasadena High School, Troop’s interest in language took him to his favoriteMexico City where he was able to become proficient in the Spanish language.  This enabled him to become a very good ESL teacher.  It was typical of Troop to immerse himself in a subject and to love it.  He had a wide variety of interests including photography, writing, translating poetry, gourmet cooking and he was a voracious reader of almost all kinds of books.  He was vitally interested in people and cultures and was very good with young people because he was such an interested person.

    Charles “Troop” Petrone passed away in March 1990 at the age of 48.  In his memory, his many friends, colleagues and students set up a scholarship in his name.  This scholarship is for a graduating senior whose presence stimulates a pleasant learning atmosphere, a willingness to accommodate others’ viewpoints, shows an enthusiasm for learning and an interest in literature beyond the mere merit of the work.

    Year Awarded To
    1991       Cybele Lyle          
    1992 Hanako Yamamuru
    1993 Janette Girod    
    1994 Leticia Alonso
    Tracy Wood  

    Terra Chase
    Shana Coffe

    1996 Wyatt Bernthal
    Aikoush Virabial
    1997 Hoorig Nassasian
    Kseniya Tikhomirova
    1998 Hayward  Kjelsrom
    Shirley Pakling Wan
    1999 Marsha Batson
    Milena Nelson
    2000 Ka-Ying (Monica) Chu
    Devon Lucy

    Beatriz Verdin
    Weiye Xu

    2002 Victoria Maria Ramos
    Stephanie Zelaya

    Alexsander Overholt
    Mario Ruiz

    2004 Khatchadour Khatchadoruian
    2006 Brian Le
    2007 Nereida Arteaga
    2008 Lindsay Ong
    2009 No award given
    2010 Alexandria Rozario
    2011 No award given

    Erika Townsend
    Esther Trigueros
    Robin Hopkins
    Connor Spears
    Madeline Pirrone